It is our pleasure to announce that the BAM Ranking 2019 will be released on July 2019, thanks to the collaboration of the different Universities that participate in this year’s study and the effort of our highly qualified Committee of Experts, formed by 16 international academic architects from some of the best universities around the world. 

+Read more


AIA recognizes the labor and contribution of 9 international Architects to be part of the Institution as Honorary Fellows. The official announcement took place in February 2019, and they were honoured at a ceremony as part of the AIA Conference on Architecture 2019 in Las Vegas. The 9 international new honorary fellows of the AIA are: 


Nathalie de Vries, Hon. FAIA (Rotterdam, Netherlands)

Jacob van Rijs, Hon. FAIA (Rotterdam, Netherlands)

Alberto Campo Baeza, Hon. FAIA (Madrid, Spain)

Emre Arolat, Hon. FAIA (Istanbul, Turkey)

Sandra Barclay, Hon. FAIA (Lima, Peru)

Jane Duncan, Hon. FAIA (Little Chalfont, United Kingdom)

Amanda Levete, Hon. FAIA (London, United Kingdom)

Esa Mohamed, Hon. FAIA (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)

Pei Ing Tan, Hon. FAIA (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)


In addition, 115 architects from The US, were also distinguished with the recognition of AIA Members.  


The American Institute of Architecture AIA 

+Official Announcement


Architect and Professor Sarah Whiting is the new Dean of the Graduated School of Architecture of Harvard University, where she taught in previous years. The announcement  took place in April 2019 and her new labors start in July. 


Whiting, who was Dean of Rice School of Architecture for over 10 years, will be the Dean of GSD Harvard, in substitution of Prof. Mohsen Mostafavi, who served as Dean of GSD for 11 years. 


About her new role at Harvard, Prof. Whiting said: “The GSD has long been a center of gravity for my thinking and actions, and I’m thrilled to be returning… It is altogether tantalizing to look across the School’s three departments, with their individual and collective capacities to shape new horizons within Gund Hall. And it’s even more enticing to envision working with the GSD’s remarkable faculty, students, staff, and alumni to help imagine and create new futures for the world, not just at Harvard but beyond.”


Graduated School of Design Harvard University


+Official Announcement


French firm Lacaton & Vassal was announced as the winner of the Mies van der Rohe 2019 Prize for Contemporary Architecture, one of the most relevant prizes for a single project in the world. The Transformation of 530 Dwellings in Grand Parc, Bodeaux, was laureate with this Prize given its relevance for reusing architecture and engagement of communities.  


The Mies van der Rohe Fundation 

+Official Announcement


On March the 5th, 2019, Arata Isozaki, Japanese architect, theorist and city planner, was announced as the winner of the Architecture Pritzker Prize 2019. The jury described him as «one of the first Japanese architects to build outside of Japan during a time when western civilizations traditionally influenced the East, making his architecture—which was distinctively influenced by his global citizenry—truly international,” by  Tom Pritzker, Chairman of Hyatt Foundation

The Pritzker Architecture Award

+Official Announcement


The World Architecture Festival 2018 Announced the Winners in every cathegory of their prizes. List of Winners: 

Civic & Community: CHROFI with McGregor Coxall – Maitland Riverlink, Maitland, Australia

Culture. Conrad Gargett – The Piano Mill, Stanthorpe, Australia

Display. Arkitema Architects and Professor Christoffer Harlang – Hammershus Visitor Centre, Allinge, Denmark

House. David Leech Architects – A house in a garden – 81 Hollybrook Grove, Dublin, Ireland
New & Old. Heatherwick Studio – Zeitz MOCAA, Cape Town, South Africa
Office. INNOCAD Architecture – C&P Corporate Headquarters, Graz, Austria
Production, Energy & Recycling. Parviainen Architects – Länsisalmi Power Station, Vantaa, Finland
Small Scale Housing. Allford Hall Monaghan Morris – Weston Street, London, United Kingdom
Sport. Koffi & Diabaté Architectes – Gymansium, Blaise Pascal High School, Abidjan, Ivory Coast

Civic Future Projects. BAAD Studio – The Sunken Shrine of Our Lady of Lourdes of Cabetican, Bacolor, Philippines

Competition Entries Future Projects. Nextoffice – Sadra Civic Center, Sadra, Iran

Experimental Future Projects. KANVA – Imago, Montreal, Canada

Health Future Projects. Allford Hall Monaghan Morris – The Alder Centre, Liverpool, United Kingdom

Infrastructure Future Projects. Monk Mackenzie + Novare – Thiruvalluvar, Kanyakumari, India

Leisure Led Future Projects. BIG-Bjarke Ingels Group – Audemars Piguet Hôtel des Horlogers, Le Brassus, Switzerland

Office Future Projects. 3XN Architects – Olympic House – International Olympic Comittee HQ, Lausanne, Switzerland

Hotel and Leisure. SeARCH – Hotel Jakarta, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Health. Temporary association AAPROG – BOECKX. – B2Ai – Hospital AZ Zeno, Knokke, Belgium

Higher Education and Research. Alison Brooks Architects – Exeter College Cohen Quadrangle, Oxford, United Kingdom

Mixed Use.  WOHA Architects – Kampung Admiralty, Singapore, Singapore

Large Scale Housing. SANJAY PURI ARCHITECTS – The Street, Mathura, India

Religion. Spheron Architects – Belarusian Memorial Chapel , London, United Kingdom

School. Tezuka Architects – Muku Nursery School – Fuji City, Japan

Shopping. NIKKEN SEKKEI – Shanghai Greenland Center / Greenland Being Funny – Shanghai, China

Transport. Grimshaw – London Bridge station, London, United Kingdom

Villa. KieranTimberlake – High Horse Ranch, Northern California, United States of America

Commercial Mixed Use. Aedas – Taichung Commercial Bank Headquarters Mixed-Use Project, Taiwan

Culture. Studio 44 Architects – Museum of the siege of Leningrad, St. Petersburg, Russia

Education. Warren and Mahoney Architects with Woods Bagot – Lincoln University and AgResearch Joint Facility, Christchurch, New Zealand

House.  Nextoffice – Guyim Vault House, Shiraz, Iran

Masterplanning. Sebastian Monsalve + Juan David Hoyos – Medellin River Parks / Botanical Park Master Plan, Medellin, Colombia

Residential. Sordo Madaleno Arquitectos – Amelia Tulum, Tulum, Mexico


The World Architecture Festival.  

+Official Announcement

Do you want to Collaborate with BAM?

If you have any news related to architecture that you consider can be interesting for us, please send us an email to