David Chipperfield wins the Pritzker Prize 2023


British architect Sir David Alan Chipperfield CH has been announced as the winner of the Pritzker Architecture Prize 2023, organized by the Pritzker Foundation.

Civic architect, urban planner and activist, Sir David Chipperfield (London, 1953) is the founder and leader of David Chipperfield Architects with offices in London, Berlin, Milan, Shanghai, and Santiago de Compostela.

He graduated from The Kingston School of Art in 1976 and The Architectural Association of London in 1980. He worked for distinguished architects such as Norman Foster and Richard Rogers before founding his own practice, David Chipperfield Architecs. 

“I take this award as an encouragement to continue to direct my attention not only to the substance of architecture and its meaning but also to the contribution that we can make as architects to address the existential challenges of climate change and societal inequality. We know that, as architects, we can have a more prominent and engaged role in creating not only a more beautiful world but a fairer and more sustainable one too. We must rise to this challenge and help inspire the next generation to embrace this responsibility with vision and courage.”, says David Chipperfield. 

During his professional path, Chipperfield coins many awards such as the RIBA Royal Gold Medal (2011), the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture (2011), the Heinrich Tessenow Medal (1999), the Japan Art Association’s Praemium Imperiale for Architecture (2013), amongst others.

In the words of the members of the 2023 jury:

«In a world where many architects view a commission as an opportunity to add to their own portfolio, he responds to each project with specific tools that he has selected with preciseness and great care. Sometimes it requires a gesture that is strong and monumental, while other times, it requires him to almost disappear. But his buildings will always stand the test of time because the ultimate goal of his operation is to serve the greater good. The avoidance of what’s fashionable has allowed him to remain permanent», says Alejandro Aravena (Jury’s Chair).

«His architectural language balances consistency with the fundamental design principles and flexibility towards the local cultures…The work of David Chipperfield unifies European classicism, the complex nature of Britain, and even the delicateness of Japan. It is the fruition of cultural diversity»

The jury of the 2023 Pritzker Awardas formed of the following professionals:

 – Alejandro Aravena, Chair

– Barry Bergdoll

– Deborah Berke

– Stephen Breyer

– André Aranha Correa do Lago

– Kazuyo Sejima

– Benedetta Tagliabue

– Wang Shu

– Manuela Lucá-Dazio, Excecutive Director

Here you can find the official announcement of the 2023 Pritzker Award

The following is a compilation of the most relevant projects by David Chipperfield Architects

James-Simon-Galerie by ©Simon Menges
The Neues Museum by © Ute Zscharnt for David Chipperfield Architects
Veles e Vents by ©Christian Richters
River and Rowing Museum by ©Richard Bryant / Arcaid
The Hepworth Wakefield by ©Iwan Baan
Turner Contemporary by ©Simon Menges

The BAM team congratulates architect Chipperfield for this wonderful news. All the images used in this article are courtesy of the Pritzker Architecture Prize website.

We invite you to subscribe to our newsletter and be the first to receive the most relevant News and Events related to architecture around the world. 






© BEST ARCHITECTURE MASTER’S Todos los derechos reservados | Nota legal | Política de cookies

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more